Who Should Renew?

As CRRNs move into non-traditional settings and roles, some question whether they are still rehabilitation nurses. To determine whether your practice meets the definition of rehabilitation nursing, ask yourself this: Do you work with physically disabled or chronically ill patients toward the restoration, maintenance, and promotion of optimal health? If you answer “yes,” then you are a rehabilitation nurse and should renew your certification.

The RNCB recognizes that rehabilitation nursing takes place in a variety of roles and settings. Some examples are:


  • Staff nurse
  • Nurse manager
  • Nurse administrator
  • In-service instructor
  • Home health nurse
  • Academic instructor
  • Clinical nurse specialist
  • Nurse clinician
  • Supervisor
  • Researcher
  • Case manager
  • Nurse liaison
  • Insurance nurse
  • Nurse practitioner
  • Consultant
  • Community nurse


  • General hospital with or without rehabilitation unit
  • Long term care facility
  • Educational institution
  • Clinic
  • Insurance company
  • Private company/private office
  • Rehabilitation facility
  • Sub-acute unit
  • Community agency/home health agency
  • Dept. of Veterans Affairs Medical Center

Earning Points of Credit

The Certified Rehabilitation Registered Nurse (CRRN) points-of-credit renewal system is designed to encourage professional development. It allows CRRNs to select from a variety of educational activities that meet professional and personal needs and to renew the CRRN credential. A total of 60 points are needed to renew CRRN certification and can be earned through acceptable continuing education, presentations, formal course work, item writing, or publication.

Looking to earn contact hours from the comfort of home? Check out these web sites:

RNCB does not recommend specific programs or guarantee that all contact hours available on these sites will be acceptable toward CRRN renewal. Please review the renewal criteria before completing any continuing education.